MACS’ Independence Day “PEPSI 75” Worth “$10,000 To-Win At Portsmouth Raceway Park
Indiana, PA (June 15, 2009) The Mid-Atlantic Championship Series swings open their season at the Coleman Family’s Portsmouth Raceway Park, Portsmouth, Ohio with the Independence Day “Pepsi 75” on Saturday, July 4th.  This is a hefty purse with $10,000 going to the winner and $700 to start from the $47,000 total.  All drivers attempting to qualify and failing to make the A Main will receive $200.00
The “Pepsi 75” will be a full MACS programs featuring the AlturnaMATS® Time Trails presented by JNJ Motorsports Media, Heats sponsored by Hoosier Tire, Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic, Hoosier Tire Ohio Valley and Dave Poske Performance, Rocket Chassis, Lias Tire Racing Division and American Racer, ATL Fuel Cells, GRT Race Cars, Mason Racin’, as well as the Sunoco Race Fuels B Main presented by Bazell Oil, and the Keizer Aluminum Wheels 2nd B Main presented by Big Shot Performance.
The purse for the “Pepsi 75” will be: 1. $10,000; 2. $5,000; 3. $3,000; 4. $2,250; 5. $1,750; 6. $1,250; 7. $1,150; 8. $1,100 9. $1,075; 10. $1,050 11.$1,025; 12. $1,000; 13. $900; 14. $800; 15. $700; 16. $700; 17. $700; 18. $700; 19. $700; 20-24. $700.  All drivers who do not transfer to the A Main will receive $200.00.

Past MACS winners at the Coleman Family’s Portsmouth Raceway Park include Dale McDowell (’04); Scott Bloomquist (’04 & ’06); Jackie Boggs (’05 & ’07); Jim Bernheisel (’05); R.J. Conley (’05); Jeremy Miller (two-’06); Billy Drake (’06); Doug Drown and Jason Covert (’07); as well as Eddie Carrier, Jr., and Josh Richards (08).

“Portsmouth is one of the tracks we really enjoy visiting, indicated Jeff Geesey, Event Coordinator.  It is an excellent opportunity for us to work with outstanding track owners and promoters.  The promotional tandem of Donna Rayburn, in addition to the voice of PRP Chuck Greenslate, has been doing a credible job since taking over the promotional duties.  The stewards of the operation are Boone and Joyce as well as Tim and Jenny Coleman who are fantastic hosts; not only to us and the drivers, but the fans as well.  It is one nice facility and always provides excellent, multiple groove racing”, concluded Geesey.      

Anticipated MACS drivers include three time and defending MACS champion, Racin’ Jason Covert, York Haven, PA; 2008 MACS title runner-up, Doug Horton, Bruceton Mills, WV; ‘07 MACS ROY titlist’s Matt Lux, Franklin, PA; and 2008 MAC ROY contenders Greg Fetters, Bedford, PA; as well as Thomas Baker, Massillon, OH.  These are but a few of the MACS contingent who are going to pit their talents against the Portsmouth drivers hailing from all over southern Ohio and northern Kentucky including: 2008 PRP Champion, Jackie Boggs; Kenny Kristy; the Bocooks, Nick and Josh; Chris Wilson; the Conley clan of Rod, R.J. and Delmas;  John Melvin; Kevin Wagner; Billy Gullion; Brett Kennard; Butch Dowdy; and Audie Swartz to name just a few.
The event is going to have an international flavor as “Aussie” hot shoe and champion Craig Vosbergen, Perth Australia, is making a return trip to the U.S. for the entire month of July.  He will once again be stable mates with Wooster, OH’s Doug Drown a former MACS regular.  This show will be the first event for Craig during his month long stay. 
Other notable drivers anticipated include: last years dynamic duo of Eddie Carrier, Jr., the reigning race champion, as well as Josh Richards, who took the second day of the twin bill, driving the Ernie Davis mount; Bart Hartman; and Wayne Chinn to name just a few.    

The pit gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the drivers meeting being held at 6:00 p.m.  Hot laps will be trackside at approximately 6:45 p.m. followed by the AlturnaMATS Shock the Clock Time Trials presented by JNJ Motorsports Media at 7:15 p.m.  Racing is slated to begin at approximately 8:00 p.m. For more information on the weekend at Portsmouth Raceway Park please visit or
Thank you for your continued support of the series, host facilities, drivers, and sponsors.

Andy Geesey – President – (724) 549-1480
Matt Geesey - Vice President – (724) 349-4282
Jeff Geesey - Secretary/Treasurer – (724) 465-2222
Email -

For more on Team Vosbergen visit

TVR Racing For: Worldwide Machinery, Racin Tyres, Valvoline, Hoosier, Royal Wolf, ROPS Australia, CJ Auto Electrics, Genesis Shocks, Camair, Rocket, Dale Concrete, Extreme Pix, C&R, Bert Vosbergen Head Reconditioning, PPG, Hooker Harness, CRC, Gavin Transport, Fatheadz, Empire Graphics, Wrisco, Half Price Tyres, BCM Motorsports Marketing, BCM Promotions, BCM Race Hard

Release By Brad Steele For BCM Motorsports Marketing
BCM Motorsports Marketing